Menu ☰

Retatrutide — Peptide Profile

SEINE BIO · PEPTIDE PROFILE

Retatrutide

Metabolic research · an experimental triple agonist

Investigational

Get to know the name, understand the evidence, and prepare a more informed conversation.

What is Retatrutide?

A frequently discussed name in metabolic research. Research interest is not a retail approval: FDA has warned about unapproved retatrutide sales, including products labeled for research. We discuss it here for education, not as an available treatment.

THE FULL READING GUIDE · UPDATED OCTOBER 7, 2026

Inside the science of Retatrutide.

Educational information only. Retatrutide is investigational, is not FDA-approved and may be considered only in limited circumstances through a sponsor-authorized program after clinician review and any required authorization. Eligibility, availability and price are case-specific; a request or membership does not guarantee access. Do not attempt to obtain it through a compounding pharmacy or an online research-product seller.

FDA states that retatrutide is not a component of an FDA-approved drug and cannot be used in compounding under federal law. Any study access is determined by the study sponsor and research team; a membership or clinician conversation does not guarantee enrollment.

Overview

Retatrutide is an investigational peptide that activates GLP-1, GIP and glucagon receptors. Its research program explores whether those actions can improve metabolic outcomes in selected patients. A development name, trial result and purchasable medicine are different things; this page helps you understand the science without treating research status as routine availability.

Community Use

Peptidepedia discusses its triple-receptor mechanism and obesity trials, while PeptideDosages publishes a vial-specific protocol page. These are attributed publisher discussions. A community dose chart does not enroll anyone in a study or establish that a seller’s material is the same investigational product used by Lilly.

Doses, Durations & Cycles

Informal biohacking protocols and published regimens. Attributed website reports for education, not medical recommendations. Multiple publications document circulation; they do not establish a safe dose or validate a cycle.

Protocol reference — Retatrutide
Route / formulationDose / reported phasesFrequencyDuration / breakNotes and source
Subcutaneous injectionTRIUMPH-1 trial arms: 4, 9 or 12 mg weekly.Once weekly in the cited trial80-week phase 3 treatment period
Break: No informal off-cycle established by this source
Human study regimen
Jastreboff et al., NEJM, published September 29, 2026; TRIUMPH-1
SubcutaneousSummary range 0.5–2 mg weekly; once-weekly ladder starts at 2 mg for weeks 1–4 and proceeds through 4, 6 and 8 mg to 8–12 mg from week 17. Also describes a 1 mg weekly beginner start.Once or twice weekly; separate split-dose ladder is printed8–48 weeks
Break: Not stated
Published informal biohacking claim
PeptaBase
SubcutaneousOptional 0.5 mg weekly introductory step; product ladder 2 mg in weeks 1–4, 4 mg in weeks 5–8, 8 mg in weeks 9–12 and 12 mg from week 13.Once weeklyEach ladder step is held for 4 weeks; no fixed total course is stated.
Break: Not stated
Published informal biohacking claim
Body Pharm
SubcutaneousFixed 1 mg arm; higher arms started at 2 or 4 mg and targeted 4, 8 or 12 mg. Higher-arm escalation was every 4 weeks.Weekly48 weeks
Break: Study follow-up is not a recommended cycle break
Controlled phase 2 human study
NEJM 2023: obesity phase 2

Important context: These are experimental trial arms, not a prescribed average or safe maximum. The accessible phase 3 abstract does not establish its starting dose. A lowest-dose trial arm is not necessarily the first step of every escalation ladder. The informal ladders below are attributed to their publishers, not labeled as clinical trial instructions.

Additional sources: Peptpedia reference profile · PSPeptides dosage article. Consult the linked record for its exact formulation, population and methods.

Sources checked October 7, 2026. Educational listing does not establish prescribing approval or availability through Seine Bio.

The reference table distinguishes human-study arms from informal claims. The 2023 phase 2 trial tested protocol-controlled weekly groups over 48 weeks, including escalation rules. Those arms are research context, not a dosing menu. No consumer starting dose, cycling interval or self-administration plan is established by that paper.

Research Findings

The randomized phase 2 obesity study enrolled 338 adults and compared retatrutide with placebo. It measured weight outcomes and safety under a controlled protocol. Later development must be read through its own publications and eligibility criteria; a successful phase 2 result does not independently resolve long-term safety or regulatory review.

U.S. Approval & Access

FDA states that retatrutide cannot be used in compounding under federal law and is not a component of an FDA-approved drug. Research-program eligibility is determined by the actual sponsor and study team. An inquiry, membership or clinician discussion cannot guarantee enrollment or create an ordinary prescribing pathway.

What It Does in the Body

The triple-agonist concept combines incretin-related signaling with glucagon-receptor activity in one molecule. That is different from mixing three separate medications. The mechanism provides a scientific rationale for study, but it cannot establish that a research-vial product has the intended structure, exposure or safety profile. Reliable onset, peak clinical benefit and duration after stopping are not established for routine care by the sources reviewed; the length of a trial is not the duration of a guaranteed effect.

Benefits & Reported Experiences

The phase 2 publication reported substantial mean weight reduction, reaching 24.2% in the highest studied group at 48 weeks. The figure describes one controlled trial arm and analysis, not an expected outcome for an individual. Compare efficacy with treatment discontinuation, tolerability and the population actually studied before interpreting a headline.

Side Effects & Risks

Gastrointestinal adverse events and dose-related heart-rate increases were reported in the phase 2 study. Unknowns remain outside a monitored trial, especially for unverified preparations and combinations. A statement that no side effects were personally noticed cannot supply the missing surveillance, laboratory monitoring or long-term follow-up needed to characterize risk.

Delivery Options

The cited human study used a controlled subcutaneous investigational product. That route does not provide instructions for an unofficial vial. Trial participants receive protocol-specific administration and monitoring from the research team. This guide does not provide preparation, syringe calculations, injection technique or an unsupervised treatment schedule.

Product Quality & Storage

The central quality question is whether the material and pathway are legitimate, not whether a certificate appears sophisticated. Research labeling, a trademark or a purity claim does not establish authorization for patient care. Before considering any program, verify the named sponsor, actual study, consent process and responsibility for monitoring. No verified patient-use storage specification is supplied by the cited research. Research materials cannot inherit an approved medicine’s stability or storage instructions; an authorized program must provide its product-specific conditions.

Combinations & Interactions

Retatrutide is already a multi-receptor drug candidate. Adding semaglutide, tirzepatide, cagrilintide or other investigational substances is not established by its phase 2 trial. A combination requires its own evidence and oversight. This page does not translate online stacking discussions into a suggested sequence or timing plan.

Talking With Your Provider

You can ask a clinician to explain the evidence, current study opportunities and approved alternatives that may fit your goal. If no appropriate trial is available, that conversation can still be useful. Research interest should lead to an informed decision, without paying on the assumption that a specific investigational substance will be supplied.

Educational information only. Retatrutide is investigational, is not FDA-approved and may be considered only in limited circumstances through a sponsor-authorized program after clinician review and any required authorization. Eligibility, availability and price are case-specific; a request or membership does not guarantee access. Do not attempt to obtain it through a compounding pharmacy or an online research-product seller.

FDA states that retatrutide is not a component of an FDA-approved drug and cannot be used in compounding under federal law. Any study access is determined by the study sponsor and research team; a membership or clinician conversation does not guarantee enrollment.

Questions about what you read?
Explore the research library Create a free account
Educational information only. A free account lets you request review of your care goals. This profile does not establish availability, clinical suitability or access to the named compound.

Explore clinically appropriate options with a licensed provider. Inquiry does not guarantee a prescription, research-program acceptance or access to a particular substance.

Questions worth bringing to your appointment.

  • Are there alternatives that address my goal?
  • If treatment is appropriate, what monitoring and follow-up would I need?
  • Could my health history or current medicines change the risks?

A clinician may recommend a different option—or no medication—after assessing your individual circumstances.

Saved discussion topics 0

Save topics you would like to discuss with your healthcare provider. Saving is an expression of interest, not a treatment request or medical recommendation.

Saved only in this browser, on this device—not in a patient account. Other people using this browser may see your list. Clear it when using a shared device. This list is not sent to our team.

    Bring your curiosity. Start a conversation.

    Create a free account to request review and manage purchases. Paid membership is optional. Clinical review and authorization still apply where required, and any separate service charges are shown before you agree to pay.

    Create a free account ↗

    Consultation inquiries only. In limited circumstances, a clinician may explore an authorized research program after individual review and any required authorization. Eligibility, availability and price are case-specific; a request or membership does not guarantee access.

    Educational profile · U.S. context · October 7, 2026. This page does not provide personalized medical advice, dosing, or injection instructions.

    Bring your saved topics to your care team.

    Members can select up to five favorites and send a message for review. Your saved list stays in this browser until you choose what to submit.

    Choose saved topics for review →
    Shopping Cart